Tom Christensen- tenor and soprano saxophones, oboe, English horn, clarinet, bass clarinet, alto flute and wood flute
Walt Weiskopf- tenor and soprano saxophones, flute, clarinet, and bass clarinet
Kermit Driscoll- bass
Satoshi Takeishi- percussion
1. guardians
2. further digressions
3. in memory of my feelings
4. asleep and sleeping with them
5. your strange son
6. oranges
7. little elegy
Critics called Tom Christensen's 2002 Playscape debut, Paths (PSR#J111601), "smart and inviting" (AllAboutJazz.com), "a remarkably varied, original, and arresting work" (Boston Globe), and "an artistic endeavor of the highest order" (Saxophone Journal). "By the end of the day," wrote All Music Guide reviewer Glenn Astarita, "it becomes outwardly apparent that Christensen possesses the goods to be a major force within the global modern jazz arena." His second Playscape release, and third overall, finds the multi-instrumentalist/composer drawing inspiration from the intermingling poetry and artwork of the so-called New York School. Seven new original compositions add a musical dimension to the work of poets Frank O'Hara and Kenneth Koch and painters Grace Hartigan, Jasper Johns and Jackson Pollock.