Manhattan Projections: Andy Jaffe
Temporarily out of stock.
Andy Jaffe – piano
Branford Marsalis – soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone (tracks 1-7)
Wallace Roney – trumpet (tracks 1-7)
Ed Jackson – alto saxophone (tracks 1-7)
Tom Olin – piccolo (tracks 1-7)
Lou Harless – bass (tracks 1-7)
Marvin "Smitty" Smith – drums (tracks 1-7)
John Clark – French horn (tracks 8-10)
Bill Lowe – trombone (tracks 8-10)
Claire Arenius – drums (tracks 8-10)
Philippe Crettien – tenor saxophone (tracks 8-10)
Mike Marcus – bass (tracks 8-10)
1. Manhattan Projections
2. Samba de Saudade
3. Dersu
4. So You Say
5. Blues for Cannonball
6. The Scorpion
7. Integrity
8. Transition
9. Whole Town
10. Goose Chase
This reissue of pianist/composer Andy Jaffe's 1984 recording (with three additional tracks recorded in 1991) features three of his former Berklee College of Music students near the beginning of their careers: Branford Marsalis, Wallace Roney and Marvin "Smitty" Smith. "The 10 Jaffe compositions here reflect his immersion in a small band tradition that stresses the integration of melody, harmony and rhythm into a unified whole," writes journalist/jazz educator Michael Ullman in the liner notes. Jaffe cites the work of John Coltrane, Duke Ellington, Gil Evans, Charles Mingus, and Hermeto Pascoal as inspirations for the original compositions for sextet and septet heard here.