Chrome: Mario Pavone / Dialect Trio
Mario Pavone – bass, compositions
Matt Mitchell – piano
Tyshawn Sorey – drums
1. Cobalt
2. Glass 10
3. Ellipse
4. Ancestors
5. Beige
6. The Lizards
7. Conic
8. Bley
9. Chrome
10. Continuing

Playscape Recordings is proud to release Chrome (PSR #060316), featuring veteran bassist/composer Mario Pavone along with his Dialect Trio, comprised of Pavone, pianist Matt Mitchell and drummer Tyshawn Sorey. This latest CD is Pavone's eleventh release as a leader on the Playscape Recordings label.

Since this trio's last collaboration in 2015, Pavone, Mitchell and Sorey have had several opportunities to perform, which Pavone cites as the main catalyst for Chrome. Pavone writes, "I composed this music in the winter of 2016 with the intention of building on the success of our past collaborations. As a result I was inspired to compose material that would further evolve, coalesce and ignite this grouping of musicians. Matt and Tyshawn's pairing is fresh and they both bring a great deal to my music. They are able to articulate the thorny logic of my compositions while at the same time pushing them forward, putting their stamp on them."

As a leader, Pavone's previous releases on the Playscape Recordings label include Street Songs, Arc Trio, Arc Suite T/PI T/PO and Ancestors, among others, and he has appeared on four recordings under the leadership of such longtime label-mates as Michael Musillami and the late Thomas Chapin. Overall, for more than four decades Pavone has worked extensively as a performer, recording as a leader and co-leader with a long resume that includes playing alongside jazz heavyweights such as Bill Dixon, Tony Malaby and Paul Bley.